The Municipal Assessment Agency is a crown corporation with the Minister of Municipal and Provincial Affairs as its sole shareholder.

The Agency is governed by a ten-member Board of Directors, which includes: six representatives who are elected by client municipalities; a representative of Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador; a representative of the Professional Municipal Administrators; and two taxpayer representatives. Municipal representatives are elected in accordance with the Agency’s by-laws. Board elections are scheduled every four years following the municipal elections.  Six municipal representatives are elected by a mail-in ballot. One Director is appointed by the Professional Municipal Administrators, and one by Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador. The remaining two positions are appointed by the Province and represent the interest of citizens.