Deputy Mayor Mary Thorne-Gosse

Urban Director

Mary Thorne-Gosse is retired after 35 years of service working for various departments and agencies within the federal government.

Currently, Mary holds the position of Deputy Mayor for the Town of Torbay.  She was first elected to Council in 1997 and has been re-elected multiple times since then, with the exception of one term.

During Mary’s time on council, she served on numerous municipal committees and liaison groups, such as Planning and Development; Public Works and Infrastructure; Administration and Finance; Recreation and Community Services; Environment and Trails; and liaison for the Torbay Volunteer Fire Department.

Mary has a strong commitment to both volunteering and her community.  From 2005 to 2009, she served as 1st Vice Chair of the Jack Byrne Regional Sports Entertainment Centre.  She was also a member of the Eastern Regional Appeal Board with the Department of Municipal Affairs from 2010 to 2017. 

Currently, Mary is a member of the East Coast Trail Stakeholder Advisory Committee; the Mental Health Task Force: Communities that Care, which involves all municipalities in Newfoundland and Labrador; and the Women’s Caucus for Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador (MNL).  Mary also sits on the Cowan Plaza Bingo Board of Directors and is the Chair of the Northeast Avalon Joint Council, which is made up of 19 municipalities.

Mary was elected as Urban Director on the Municipal Assessment Agency’s Board of Directors on January 27, 2022.  She was appointed to the Agency’s Public Relations and Policy Committee in February 2022.